Sign in to follow this  
The Grim Reaper

The Equilism German Club (Interest in Learning German - No Prior Experience)

This is just sending out the feelers to see if anyone in the region wants to start a Languages group to learn German (or another language, maybe).

I'm a total beginner myself - I know a couple of us had a thing going on with Duolingo, which has started to peter out.

But I was thinking maybe we could try to start that up again at some point, in a more communal setting, perhaps not with Duolingo.

This is less an idea and more a "hey, anyone want to learn German?" question, really :P

You have my absolute attention. I am a beginner as well and would welcome a chance to participate in study group.

Ich mag Deutsche.

I learnt a little for a couple of years in school, but the above is all I remember (as well as Schokolade, of course). Currently refreshing my memory of Spanish on Duolingo. It's okay for basic vocab, but the more you learn the complexities of the language you should also be speaking it out loud, otherwise IMO you're not learning it properly. This is a downfall for most online language learning programs. :(

It's okay for basic vocab, but the more you learn the complexities of the language you should also be speaking it out loud, otherwise IMO you're not learning it properly.

Agreed, the listening program in duolingo does not help at accent at all. There are also several time that I said the wrong answer, but somehow they said I am right.

We could do some skype chat in our group, but it will be us all novice advising each others.

Maybe I can be of help. I have little experience with online language learning, but at least I'm a native speaker. Disclaimer: I'm able to write perfect Standard High German, but I'm speaking with a thick Franconian accent.